Yo!

I’m going to spare you the “sorry i’ve been away so long” part of this.  It’s not like you don’t have stuff to read, right? (Besides, my kid was sick.  She’s just now well enough to be super crabby.  Awesome!)

Me modelling the winning belts for the Crafty Showcase Showdown created by the superb @flamestitch

Midwest Craft Caucus was a complete blast!  There were a ton of crafty Who’s Whos there.  Loads to learn and folks to meet.  I didn’t take any pics because I was making coffee, learning about taking pictures, learning about Pinterest, and shmoozing with the Creme de la Craft.   Seriously, look at the website and see who was there.  You’ll be jealous.  Oh yeah, I did get to emcee the Crafty Showcase Showdown.

The Crafty Showcase Showdown is an event in which people compete on teams of two with crafty challenges.  This like “Get supplies from this pile of crap and make a vest!”  It’s really fun and while they are crafting, I harass them.  I try to find their weak spot and exploit it.  Kidding!  These are usually professional crafters and they know I’m full of it.  Really, I’ve competed many times and lost almost every time.  It’s just about having fun.  I like the idea of crafting being translated into other languages.  Like, now it’s a full-on sport!  I want my kids to letter in Crafting!  That would be something for their college resumes!

Did you also notice that I said “professional crafters”?  That’s right.  It can be a profession.  I just find that very exciting.

And that pic up there  (it’s a good thing i don’t get embarrassed, right? ) was taken by Esther of Torn Angel.  See?  Another reason to love Columbus.  Check out what Esther had to say about the Craft Caucus here…

Up next...ComFest!

Leave a Reply

