Sending them off on their way

Today is going to be full of wonderfully sad and poignant moment courtesy of my kindergartner and my co-worker, Kara.  I couldn’t even tell the story of my youngest meeting her first teacher yesterday without crying, then having Heather laugh at me! (but only because she’s been going through the same thing and Kara can barely stand to be around us).

Kara goes back to school in a few days and today is her last day until Thanksgiving break!  yikes!  Kara started as an intern.  She could tolerate my mouth, crabby mornings, loud and messy kids and my sloppy home-keeping ways, so I gave her a job.

She’s not going to like that I put that picture in there.  Kara also has her own Etsy shop! Go there and look at her stuff.  and follow her on Twitter.  She rarely swears and has good manners, and yet we get along rather well.  Kara has really become part of our family and it’s going to be hard taking up the slack!  Heather and I, road-weary battleaxes that we are, haven’t yet deterred her from parenthood or turning into an adult.  amazing.

Oh sweet little Ellie!  Today is her first day of school.  I can’t even believe it.  Ellie is hilarious and can have fun anywhere so I think she will love it.  That’s all I want to say about that.  It makes me a little sad to think that she won’t be here to interrupt the sewing.  I’ve not had this much time to myself in a long time and I’m not sure I’ll like it.

one of my favorite pics

Who knew this stay-at-home mom gig would last 7 years?!  We’ve been growing AmyD slowly all this time and now I guess it’s time to get at it, right?

5 responses to “Sending them off on their way

  1. Congrats! I remember the feelings you are describing. Kindergarten was too long some days and not long enough on the days when I was in the line at Meijer trying to get home before the bus came. We have finally reached empty nest. It was sad for a while, but now we rock it! I miss the little people that my children were, but I love the women they have become.

  2. I can call you every hour or so to perpetuate the interruptions if you’d like.

  3. Everybody just keeps growing up! Congratulations though it’s bittersweet, I’m sure. Yr timing seems perfect as you seem to be kickin’ ass and shifting MadebyAmyD into high gear. If only you had time to make rock star pants! I’ll have to steal Matt Bellamy’s…

Leave a Reply

