The Best Present Ever

You may have heard me talk about this before, but if not, here you go.

About 11 years ago, I was living in Athens, Ohio.  Work was all-consuming.  My son would have to have dinner with me at my office.  Needless to say, my house was a disaster.  Like a frat house after a party kind of disaster.

My dear and wonderful friend, Holly, has known me for a long time.  We met when I was 14.  She was all punk-rock and super cool, and I was a dork.  Total dork.  I had feathered hair.  It was 1984.  She had black hair and a long white braided tail.  Right?  I know, now you say “Oh god that’s dumb!”  But then, well that was the shit!

Me, Mr. Holly (Eric), and Holly 1992?3?

So you get that she’s known me a long time.  She’s known me through some very unflattering stages and changes.  Well, this year I was overwhelmed with life, the way one gets.  For Christmas that year, she gave me “Wife Wednesdays.”  Wife Wednesdays meant that EVERY Wednesday for 3 months, she would come to my house while I was at work and clean it.  CLEAN.  I mean, she swept, picked up, did dishes,  did laundry, PUT LAUNDRY AWAY, changed sheets.  She did it all.  But the best part was she would make a casserole and put it in the fridge with instructions on how to cook it so the boy and I could have a nice dinner.

The first Wednesday was the day after New Year’s and she came!  It was so fantastic.  It’s not like she didn’t have stuff to do either.  Holly has three kids of her own and a husband.  (he’s pretty foxy, but so is she)  But still she managed to do this wonderful thing.

Holly - stole this pic from Eric's Facebook

So if you are looking for a great gift for a single mom, this would have to be the most wonderful gift ever given.  Better than your only begotten son.  (ok, calm down, just kidding)

Thanks Holly, it’s been 11 years and it’s still the best gift ever given!

 

6 responses to “The Best Present Ever

  1. Go Holly…tough to beat that one.

  2. I remember her doing this, I didn’t know she did that good of a job but she is my favorite daughter, and still very cool. I like your post, others should so what you suggest.

  3. Wow. What an awesome thing to say. Love you Amy!

  4. That is awesome. Well, it is hard not to adore you, Amy! And, obviously Holly is pretty adorable too! 🙂

  5. Thanks for the great story and inspiration to seek ways to give to others generously & genuinely!

Leave a Reply

