Today’s Action at Whole Foods in Dublin

When I was first approached with the idea of selling AmyD aprons and coffee sleeves at Whole Foods, I thought it would be cool and that it wouldn’t happen.  Today it happened!

When we met and talked about what I do, the team at Whole Foods was really interested in the way I recycle material.  We decided that for Whole Foods, I would make the aprons with reclaimed fabrics.  A bit of a challenge to find and take apart sometimes, but I think it was worth it.  I brought the coffee sleeve to them as a thank-you gift and they decided it would be a great fit in the mix too!

Here is a pic of the rear of the display at Whole Foods and me looking dorky.

This was taken with the iphone, so not the best, bear with me.  Patti, of That Patti, was there taking pictures and I’m sure they will be way better!

The whole experience is pretty surreal for me.  You may be reading this and be a successful entrepreneur and think it’s small potatoes.  To me, it’s the first time since I’ve been doing AmyD that I think, “You know, this might be a viable career choice!”  I might get to make stuff for a living!  The possibility of the possibility is exciting.

My husband has been really great through this whole thing of not sleeping, cleaning, or cooking that I’ve been doing while getting this ready.  Of course, I delayed because I kept thinking the order wasn’t coming.  This is when I should have been preparing, but nah, I wasn’t.

And Kristin, my wonderful friend who helped orchestrate this whole thing has inspired me to try all kinds of new things.  By the way, “helped orchestrate” = put the whole thing together and kept making sure I was on task.  She just thought it was going to happen and it did.

Here is Kristin and I putting together a rack…..

I was really sort of nervous to meet the folks at Whole Foods.  They were so easy to talk to!  They answered questions and let me talk all over myself, as I tend to do when I’m nervous and sleep deprived.  All of them really seem behind the idea and want it to be successful.

This is a whole new audience for me.  I’m unsure and excited and a little freaked out.  It might seem small, but to me it shows a possible option.  That’s huge! Hooray!

12 responses to “Today’s Action at Whole Foods in Dublin

  1. Congratulations Amy! I don’t think it’s small potatoes at all!

  2. Great job AmyD! Congrats!!

  3. That’s freaking awesome, Amy. “Might be a viable career choice” is a lot more than small potatoes!

  4. In this case you’re way huge potatoes. Or bigger potatoes than me, anyway 😉 Go, Amy D!! I’m so happy for/proud of you! Nice work! What an accomplishment!

  5. Hooray! So happy for you!

  6. so excited for you! and it’s true…the people there were so incredibly nice and awesome!!

  7. Saw the rack last night — looked great!

    No cook should be without an AmyD apron for the holidays…

  8. Actually, small potatoes are the BEST! We eat them all the time. And your aprons are so cool, I already bought TWO of them from Whole Foods as Xmas gifts. They/you ROCK!

  9. That’s so exciting! Congratulations Amy!!!

  10. I think selling at Whole foods definitely is a BIG deal. Do they purchase your items or do you sell them on consignment?

  11. YAY Amy-Congrats!

    I think of you every week while doing my grocery shopping there. My kids think I’m cool cause I know someone “famous”-haha. They point out your aprons everytime and say, “You know her Mama!!!”

Leave a Reply

